The Wind & the Clover (Hardcover)

Shopping cart

The Wind & the Clover By Audrey Helen Weber Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
On hand as of Aug 14 12:03am
(KPR Kids/Picture Book)

Description


From an acclaimed up-and-coming artist comes a gorgeous tribute to imagination, curiosity, and following your dreams, perfect for fans of Julie Fogliano and Carson Ellis.

More things than you can imagine live in a field of clover, but this is a story about the bees...and their wondrous dreams of someplace different than their everyday world of green. Following the call of the wind and magical pollen blown in from far-flung places north and south, east and west, they encounter lands and countless species beyond their wildest fancy.

Filled with lavish, vivid paintings full of extraordinary flora and fauna with a seek-and-find element, The Wind & the Clover encourages readers to explore, discover, and look closely…because sometimes, the most magnificent things can be found no farther than your own backyard.

About the Author


Audrey Helen Weber is also the author and artist of On the Day the Horse Got Out. She grew up in central Massachusetts and studied theater design and drawing at Hampshire College. Drawing inspiration from nursery rhymes and school primers, her storytelling seeks to play with the relationship between words and pictures. Audrey’s artwork has been featured in numerous publications, including the New York Times Book Review and the New Yorker online. She lives in western Massachusetts, where she has also worked on the education team at the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art. She invites you to visit her website at audreyhelenweber.com.

Praise For…


Praise for On the Day the Horse Got Out:

* "Creating a nursery rhyme that sounds suitably timeless is a challenge, but newcomer Weber's verse passes the test, and so do her haunting spreads, which carry whiffs of folk art and medieval books of hours." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Visual stunning, highly imaginative, and delightfully baffling." —Kirkus Reviews

"With groovy illustrations on pale yellow backgrounds and retro lettering on its cover, [this] feels like an old favorite from the 1960s. There's a slightly psychedelic quality to the story it tells 3-to-7 year olds, too, as the world reacts when a horse escapes its paddock." —Wall Street JournalPublishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Wall Street Journal

“Weber (On the Day the Horse Got Out) offers fairy tale prose and marvelously rich, folk-style gouache and pencil spreads…. Testifies to the glory and profusion of the natural world, and to the importance of appreciating one’s surroundings.”—Publishers Weekly

“Short sentences on each page, plenty of repetition, and an engaging author’s note call readers to notice the little things around them, making this a great fit for storytime.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316459914
ISBN-10: 0316459917
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English