One Half Truth (Hardcover)

One Half Truth Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships Within a Week

Description


'EVERYONE should read Eva Dolan' Mark Billingham

When the police are called to the report of a late-night shooting, they expect it to be drugs or gang-related. They don't expect to find a young student executed on his way home.

Jordan Radley was an aspiring journalist: hard working, well-liked, dedicated. His first major story – looking at the fallout following the closure of a major local factory – had run recently and looked to be the first step in his longed-for career. Even after the story ran, Jordan continued to stay in contact with those he interviewed: he was on his way back from their social club the night he was murdered.

But as the detectives quickly discover, not only was Jordan killed, but those responsible also broke into his house, taking his laptop and notes. What was he researching that might have led to his death? And can this really be linked to another case – long ruled an accident – in the same area?

Or are the police being forced to prioritise those with the best connections rather than the ones that most need their help?

From the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award nominated author, Eva Dolan, this novel is perfect for fans of Susie Steiner, Sarah Hilary and Jane Casey.

****

Praise for Eva Dolan:

'Dolan is expert at the orchestration of tension' Guardian

'Elegantly crafted, humane and thought-provoking. She's top drawer' Ian Rankin on This is How it Ends

'A master of pace... [Dolan writes] richly imagined, cleverly plotted and socially aware stories' Independent

'Dolan infuses old-fashioned police work with contemporary issues to paint a disturbing picture of our times' Daily Mail

About the Author


Eva Dolan was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger for unpublished authors when only a teenager. The five novels in her Zigic and Ferreira series have been published to widespread critical acclaim: Between Two Evils was shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, After You Die was longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger, and Tell No Tales and After You Die were both shortlisted for the Theakston Crime Novel of the Year Award. Dolan's first standalone thriller, This Is How It Ends, was longlisted for the 2019 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. She lives in Cambridge.

@eva_dolan

Praise For…


“Anybody who wants to know how and why this country has gone wrong over the past few decades could do worse than read the crime novels of Eva Dolan ... The anger is righteous and yet the book is also warm, funny and gripping” —Mirror

An expertly plotted story full of tension and pace, it paints a picture of how anger, loss of dignity and greed can destroy lives - and how, in contrast, some people commit crimes and get away with them” —Woman's Own

Dolan takes aim at unregulated capitalism in a solid and well-constructed police procedural that is well up to the high standard of previous titles” —Guardian

“Dolan is a crime writer with a heart, shining a light on contemporary issues in increasingly well-crafted crime novels that keep you guessing and leave you thinking hard” —Times Saturday Review (for audiobook)

“A serious, unflashy, involving police procedural that has important things to say and does not pretend that all victims are either virtuous or likeable” —Literary Review

Dolan writes beautifully and with searing social awareness … an enjoyable read” —Daily Record

“Smartly plotted” —Sunday Mirror

“Eva Dolan depicts the breakthroughs and drawbacks of an investigation, the feint and parry of interviews, in engrossing detail and with great skill” —The Times

“A compelling mystery ... A new read from Eva Dolan is always a pleasure and her latest is as dark and gritty as ever” —Sunday Times

“A real state-of-the-nation novel” —Financial Times



Product Details
ISBN: 9781408886557
ISBN-10: 1408886553
Publisher: Raven Books
Publication Date: July 6th, 2021
Pages: 432
Language: English