What Lies Beneath: A Laura Chambers Novel (Hardcover)

Shopping cart

Staff Pick Badge
What Lies Beneath: A Laura Chambers Novel By J. G. Hetherton Cover Image
$27.99
Probably On Our Shelves Now! Wait for us to confirm availability.
On hand as of Dec 6 7:43pm
(MY* Mystery/New Release)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Laura Chambers Novel series.

Staff Reviews


J.G., from Durham, has created a scintillating and convoluted 20 year old mystery set in Hillsborough. Full of local color the story begins with the killing of almost an entire family. The only survivor, an eight old girl whisked away to distant relatives. 20 years later Laura Chambers, a smart, hard-charging, reporter for the local paper gets a phone call from a number she doesn’t recognize and hears the caller die as she runs onto I-40 and is hit by a truck. Could this be her childhood friend returning to town and running from someone? Laura’s going to find out and nothing’s going to stop her as digs deep into Hillsborough’s secrets even as her life is threatened. J.G. has crafted a story full of drama that will have you looking at Hillsborough in a different light once you’re finished. If you ever have chance catch him at The Yonder Bars (https://yonderbarnc.com/) Noir in the Bar where he occasionally reads. He’s as good a reader as he is a writer.

— Pete

Description


Perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver and J.A. Jance, in this thrilling second book in the series, Laura Chambers finds herself caught in a deadly web of small town secrets.

Hillsborough, North Carolina is a town with a dark history that is bubbling to the surface. Twenty years ago, Laura’s friend’s family was slaughtered in their beds, and the sole survivor, Laura’s eight-year-old friend, was whisked away to distant relatives. That was the last time Laura ever saw her best friend.

Twenty years later, a woman runs onto the interstate, directly into the path of a truck, and the gruesome accident leaves behind a mangled corpse. Her very last phone call was to Laura, just before she was killed, but her face is disfigured beyond recognition. Identification seems impossible, and the victim was barefoot and in a state of undress. The only thing in her possession is an old photograph depicting Laura, Laura’s father—and standing next to them, her lost friend from childhood.

Laura’s father passed away when she was eight, and she thought she understood why he vanished from her life in the year before he died, but the photograph and the corpse begin to cast doubt on everything she thought she knew.

As the lines between fact and fiction blur, Laura digs into the history of the deceased, and her own family, determined to discover what lies beneath…

About the Author


J. G. Hetherton was in raised in rural Wisconsin, graduated from Northwestern University, and lived in Chicago for the better part of a decade. Along the way to his first novel, he dabbled in many different day jobs before moving to North Carolina for a girl. They live in Durham, North Carolina, with their twin daughters, and when he's not writing, you can find him on the hiking trail or sitting down with a good book.

Praise For…


Praise for What Lies Beneath:
“Hetherton’s sure hand provides plenty of action and intrigue, with well-defined yet deeply flawed characters. Readers will want more.”
Publishers Weekly

“Hetherton keeps turning up the heat.”
Kirkus

“Excellent character development . . . Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Kerry Wilkinson.”
Portland Book Review

Praise for Last Girl Gone:

Last Girl Gone is one of the most surefooted, accomplished debut thrillers I’ve read in ages. Readers are going to fall hard for J. G. Hetherton."
—Chelsea Cain, New York Times bestselling author

“J. G. Hetherton’s Last Girl Gone is a stunning debut that takes the reader down a dark and vivid rabbit hole . . . Swiftly paced, riveting, poignant and real."
—David Bell, bestselling author of Bring Her Home

“Forget sleep. Forget everything. No one will pry this book out of your hands until the last diabolical twist.”
—Brian Freeman, bestselling author of The Night Bird

“Perfectly paced and plotted from its dramatic beginning to its twist ending, Last Girl Gone is a compulsive read that will keep the reader turning pages.”
—Christine Carbo, award-winning author of The Weight of Night

“Chilling, creepy, atmospheric...[A] rare debut novel that reads like the work of a seasoned pro."
—Owen Laukkanen, award-winning author of The Forgotten Girls

“One hell of a twisted baddie, all wrapped up in [a] fantastic premise, fantastic writing, and one hell of an ending. I read it in a day.”
—Paul Cleave, international bestselling author of Trust No One

“Memorable [and] compelling."
Library Journal

“Hetherton delivers a realistic look at contemporary newsroom culture."
Publishers Weekly

“The Hillsborough setting will appeal to local readers who might recognize favorite haunts scattered throughout.”
News and Observer

“Captivating [and] gripping."
News of Orange County

“This diabolical debut thriller offers more twists than winding country road . . . J. G. Hetherton is an author to watch.”
New York Journal of Books

“A damn fine thriller."
Criminal Element

Last Girl Gone had me guessing to the very end."
Seattle Book Review

“A compelling and well-written mystery, this could very well be the one book to take to the beach this summer.”
MyShelf.com


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643850207
ISBN-10: 1643850202
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Laura Chambers Novel