Sarah Tomlinson, Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers

Shopping cart

Anke Berben is ready to tell all. A legendary model and style icon, she reveled in headline-grabbing romances with not one but three members of the hugely influential rock band the Midnight Ramblers. The band members were as famous for their backstage drama as for their music, and Anke is the only one who fully understands the tangled relationships, betrayals, and suspicions that have added to the Ramblers’ enduring appeal and mystique. That is most evident in the mystery around Anke’s role in the death of Mal, the band’s founder and Anke’s husband, in 1969.


When Mari Hawthorn accepts the job to work with Anke on her memoir, she is dead set on getting to the truth of Mal’s death. She has always been deft at navigating the fatal charms of celebrities, having grown up with a narcissistic, alcoholic father. As she ingratiates herself into the world of the band, she grows enchanted, against her better judgment, by these legendary rock stars. She knows she can’t get pulled in too deep, otherwise she’ll compromise her objectivity—and her integrity.


Filled with all of the glamour and attitude of rock and roll, The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers is a bighearted page-turner that will appeal to fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and Almost Famous.


Los Angeles-based writer, editor, and ghostwriter Sarah Tomlinson has ghostwritten or co-written 21 books, including the New York Times bestseller, Fast Girl, with former Olympic runner Suzy Favor Hamilton, which The New Yorker wrote was: “ultimately more interesting for what it says about the psychological demands of high-level sports.” The New York Post called it: “detailed and vibrant.” She has penned four un-credited New York Times bestsellers. In the past decade, she’s worked with a who’s who of cultural icons, including Hollywood legend Russ Tamblyn (Dancing on the Edge forthcoming in 2024); FOX Sports’ NFL insider, Jay Glazer (Unbreakable); entrepreneur and Hedley & Bennett founder, Ellen Bennett (Dream First, Details Later). She is the author of the father-daughter memoir, Good Girl. Her music criticism, articles, and personal essays have appeared in publications including Marie Claire, MORE, Publishers Weekly, Salon.com, The Los Angeles Times, and The Boston Globe. 
 

Event date: 
Saturday, February 17, 2024 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Event address: 
220 Market Street
Fearrington Village, NC 27312
The Last Days of the Midnight Ramblers: A Novel By Sarah Tomlinson Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250890481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Flatiron Books - February 13th, 2024

Perfect for fans of Daisy Jones & The Six and Almost Famous, a gripping debut about the complicated legacy of a legendary rock band and the ghostwriter telling their story

Three Rock & Roll icons. Two explosive tell-all memoirs. One ghostwriter caught in the middle.