YA Girl Power Novel Recommendations

Seafire Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780451478825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Razorbill - June 11th, 2019

"One of the year's most anticipated new fantasies." --Entertainment Weekly

"A fast-paced, thrilling tale." --BuzzFeed

"The best kind of fantasy. . . . impossible to put down." --Paste

"[Seafire] will leave readers craving more." --School Library Connection, starred review


Steel Tide (Seafire #2) Cover Image
$11.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780451478849
Published: Razorbill - September 22nd, 2020

The second book in a heart-stopping trilogy that follows the captain of an all-female ship hellbent on taking down a vicious warlord's powerful fleet, which Kirkus Reviews called "an immersive, adventurous pleasure that improves on the first book."


Stormbreak (Seafire #3) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780451478863
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Razorbill - February 9th, 2021

In this epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, which Booklist called "Mad Max by way of Davy Jones," Caledonia Styx will risk everything--her heart, her crew, and even her life--to defeat Lir and take back the Bullet Seas once and for all.


Dumplin' Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062327192
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 14th, 2017

Now a popular Netflix feature film, starring Jennifer Aniston, Danielle Macdonald, and Dove Cameron, as well as a soundtrack from Dolly Parton!

The #1 New York Times bestseller and feel-good YA of the year—about Willowdean Dixon, the fearless, funny, and totally unforgettable heroine who takes on her small town’s beauty pageant.


Legendborn (The Legendborn Cycle) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!
Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic


The Voting Booth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368053297
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.
Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She’s always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?


Furia Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616209919
Availability: Backordered
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK
Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Medal

One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020
A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library 


“An engrossing #OwnVoices novel.&rd


Throne of Glass Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781619630345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 7th, 2013

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king's champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.


The Backups: A Summer of Stardom Cover Image
By Alex de Campi, Lara Kane (Illustrator), Dee Cunniffe (Contributions by), Ted Brandt (Contributions by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250212597
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Imprint - April 13th, 2021

Step into the spotlight with The Backups, a graphic novel from writer Alex de Campi and artist Lara Kane about crushes, confidence, and catchy choruses!


Brightly Woven: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368018630
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Disney-Hyperion - February 2nd, 2021

From #1 New York Times best-selling author Alexandra Bracken comes a magical graphic novel about discovering your own power, perfect for fans of the Amulet series and Howl’s Moving Castle.


A Song Below Water: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250315335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Tor Teen - June 1st, 2021

Bethany C. Morrow's A Song Below Water is the story for today’s readers — a captivating modern fantasy about Black sirens, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism.

In a society determined to keep her under lock and key, Tavia must hide her siren powers.


Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Cover Image
By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781947440005
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Getty Publications - March 6th, 2018

A 2018 Boston Globe Horn Book Nonfiction Award Winner and a 2018 Moonbeam Children's Books Gold Award Winner!

Graciela Iturbide was born in Mexico City in 1942, the oldest of 13 children. When tragedy struck Iturbide as a young mother, she turned to photography for solace and understanding.


Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America


Woven in Moonlight Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781645672050
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Page Street Kids - December 8th, 2020

A lush tapestry of magic, romance, and revolución, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history.

“A vibrant feast of a book.” – Margaret Rogerson, NYT bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens
“Pure magic.” – Shelby Mahurin, NYT bestselling author of Serpent & Dove


Hush: A Novel (The Hush Series #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250235909
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Wednesday Books - October 6th, 2020

Graceling meets Red Queen in this exciting debut novel by an electrifying new voice


Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

Instant New York Times Bestseller
TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
TIME Best YA Books of All Time
TIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018


Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250170996
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - December 3rd, 2019

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK

“Meet Tomi Adeyemi—the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she’s that good).” —Entertainment Weekly


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Book One) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780439023528
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Scholastic Press - July 1st, 2010

The first novel in the worldwide bestselling series by Suzanne Collins!

Winning means fame and fortune. Losing means certain death. The Hunger Games have begun. . . . In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Book Two) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545586177
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Scholastic Press - June 4th, 2013

The second book in Suzanne Collins's phenomenal and worldwide bestselling Hunger Games trilogy is now available in trade paperback.

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just earned for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty.


Mockingjay (Hunger Games, Book Three) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545663267
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Scholastic Press - February 25th, 2014

The third book in Suzanne Collins's phenomenal and worldwide bestselling Hunger Games trilogy.

The final book in Suzanne Collins's worldwide bestselling Hunger Games trilogy is now available in paperback."My name is Katniss Everdeen. Why am I not dead? I should be dead."Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. There are rebels.


Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358452089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Clarion Books - March 2nd, 2021

"Stunning . . . . elegant . . . . arresting . . . . supple and harrowing.” —Wall Street Journal

Best-selling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc changed the course of history and remains a figure of fascination centuries after her extraordinary life and death.


Moxie: Movie Tie-In Edition Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250822871
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Square Fish - April 27th, 2021

Now a Netflix Original Film directed by Amy Poehler!

"Moxie is sweet, funny, and fierce. Read this and then join the fight."—Amy Poehler

An unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texas high school in this novel from Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Truth About Alice.

MOXIE GIRLS FIGHT BACK!