YA Historical Fiction Recommendations

The Downstairs Girl Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781524740979
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - March 2nd, 2021

A Reese's Book Club YA Pick and New York Times Bestseller
 
From the critically acclaimed author of Luck of the Titanic, Under a Painted Sky, and Outrun the Moon comes a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family.


The Enigma Game Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368012584
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 3rd, 2020

#1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein delivers an exhilarating, unmissable thriller that finds three very different young adults united to decode a secret that could turn the tide of World War II.


Lovely War Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780147512970
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Penguin Books - February 4th, 2020

A New York Times bestseller!

A sweeping, multi-layered romance set in the perilous days of World Wars I and II, where gods hold the fates--and the hearts--of four mortals in their hands.


The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings #1) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062382818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 4th, 2018

A Kirkus Prize nominee and Stonewall Honor winner with 5 starred reviews! A New York Times bestseller!

Named one of the best books of 2017 by NPR and the New York Public Library!


The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings #2) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062795335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 26th, 2020

In this highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, Felicity Montague must use all her womanly wits and wiles to achieve her dreams of becoming a doctor—even if she has to scheme her way across Europe to do it.


The Book Thief Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780375842207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 11th, 2007

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME

The extraordinary, beloved novel about the ability of books to feed the soul even in the darkest of times.


When Death has a story to tell, you listen.


Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781536215175
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Walker Books US - April 27th, 2020

Queen of the Sea stands out as one of the most accomplished, even beautiful, comics of the year.” —School Library Journal


Banned Book Club Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945820427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Iron Circus Comics - May 19th, 2020

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Highly recommended for readers passionate about activism. -- SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, Starred Review

Sure to inspire today's youthful generation of tenacious changemakers. -- BOOKLIST, Starred Review

The messages of hope are universal. -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review


March: Book One Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781603093002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 13th, 2013

#1 New York Times Bestseller


March: Book Two Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781603094009
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Top Shelf Productions - January 20th, 2015

Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy with co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell, inspired by a 1950s comic book that helped prepare his own generation to join the struggle.


March: Book Three Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 2nd, 2016

Welcome to the stunning conclusion of the award-winning and best-selling MARCH trilogy. Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, joins co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell to bring the lessons of history to vivid life for a new generation, urgently relevant for today's world.


A Cloud of Outrageous Blue Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524700416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2020

For fans of Fever 1793 comes the story of a young woman paving her own path and falling in love during the Great Plague of 1348, from the award-winning creator of What the Night Sings.


Luck of the Titanic Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524740986
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - May 4th, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.


The Black Kids Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534462724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

A New York Times bestseller
A William C.


Last Night at the Telegraph Club Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525555254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

A Finalist for the National Book Award

"Proof of Malinda Lo's skill at creating darkly romantic tales of love in the face of danger."—O: The Oprah Magazine

"The queer romance we’ve been waiting for.”—Ms. Magazine

"Restrained yet luscious."—Sarah Waters, bestselling author of Tipping the Velvet


We Are Not Free Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358131434
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Clarion Books - September 1st, 2020

* NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * PRINTZ HONOR BOOK * WALTER HONOR BOOK *

From New York Times best-selling and acclaimed author Traci Chee comes We Are Not Free, the collective account of a tight-knit group of young Nisei, second-generation Japanese American citizens, whose lives are irrevocably changed by the mass U.S.


The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge Cover Image
By M. T. Anderson, Eugene Yelchin (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781536213096
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Candlewick - April 14th, 2020

“Both moving and hilarious. Spurge is not just an unlikely hero it’s hard to know if he’s a hero at all. But that only makes the finale of this political satire all the more surprising.” — The New York Times Book Review


Hamilton and Peggy!: A Revolutionary Friendship Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062671318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
This title is a nonreturnable book, so please make sure it is the right one!
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 10th, 2019

Drawing from historical journals and letters, New York Times bestselling author Laura Elliot weaves a richly detailed tale about the extraordinary Peggy Schuyler and her revolutionary friendship with Alexander Hamilton. Perfect for fans of the smash musical sensation Hamilton.


They Went Left Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316490597
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 6th, 2021

The New York Times bestselling, Sydney Taylor Honor winning, critically acclaimed tour de force historical mystery from Monica Hesse, author of Girl in the Blue Coat Germany, 1945. The soldiers who liberated the Gross-Rosen concentration camp said the war was over, but nothing feels over to eighteen-year-old Zofia Lederman.


Butterfly Yellow Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062229229
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperCollins - October 13th, 2020

Winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction! Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sánchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews!


The Librarian of Auschwitz Cover Image
By Antonio Iturbe, Lilit Thwaites (Translated by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781627796187
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - October 10th, 2017

Based on the experience of real-life Auschwitz prisoner Dita Kraus, this is the incredible story of a girl who risked her life to keep the magic of books alive during the Holocaust.


Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358452089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Clarion Books - March 2nd, 2021

"Stunning . . . . elegant . . . . arresting . . . . supple and harrowing.” —Wall Street Journal

Best-selling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc changed the course of history and remains a figure of fascination centuries after her extraordinary life and death.


The Fountains of Silence Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780142423639
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Penguin Books - September 29th, 2020

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship.