YA Novels in Verse Recommendations

Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176399
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2021

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X


Muted Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338673524
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Scholastic Press - February 2nd, 2021

A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds!

Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.

For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything.


Let Me Hear a Rhyme Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062840332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 19th, 2020

In this striking new novel by the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly and Monday’s Not Coming, Tiffany D. Jackson tells the story of three Brooklyn teens who plot to turn their murdered friend into a major rap star by pretending he's still alive.


The Truth Project Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062954404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 13th, 2020

A heart-wrenching quest for identity every YA reader will relate to, and a deep dive into the meaning of family." —Ellen Hopkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author


Every Body Looking Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525556206
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2020

A Finalist for the National Book Award


Punching the Air Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062996480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 1st, 2020

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor * Walter Award Winner * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal 


The Poet X Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062662811
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Quill Tree Books - April 7th, 2020

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!


With the Fire on High Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062662842
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 30th, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award-winning title The Poet X comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire burning bright.


Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.


Staff Pick Badge
Blood Water Paint Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780735232136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Penguin Books - March 5th, 2019

"Haunting ... teems with raw emotion, and McCullough deftly captures the experience of learning to behave in a male-driven society and then breaking outside of it."—The New Yorker 


Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358452089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Clarion Books - March 2nd, 2021

"Stunning . . . . elegant . . . . arresting . . . . supple and harrowing.” —Wall Street Journal

Best-selling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc changed the course of history and remains a figure of fascination centuries after her extraordinary life and death.


Moonrise Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781681193663
Published: Bloomsbury YA - May 8th, 2018

From Carnegie Award-winning author Sarah Crossan comes a poignant and thought-provoking novel that explores life, sibling bonds, and forgiveness as a teen tries to reconnect with his brother on death row for a crime he may not have committed.

Seventeen-year-old Joe hasn't seen his brother in ten years. Ed didn’t walk out on the family, not exactly. It’s something more brutal.